Are You Sure THIS is the Way, God?

Read Jeremiah 29:11-13

Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him and he will do this: He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, the justice of your cause like the noon day sun.
-Psalm 37:5-6 (NIV)

Picture a dilapidated bridge dangling from one end of the canyon to the next. Seventy-five feet below lay sharp jagged rocks, yet the guide assures you secure passage to the other side. Trust me he says. Will you cross the bridge?

When I read, “I trust in you, O Lord . . .” (Psalm 31:14 NIV), I wondered, do I really? Do I see God as a foolish guide who wants to lead me across a tattered bridge? How apt am I to trust God when life looks like a pile of jagged rocks? Do I look upon my expedition with God as exhausting rather than exploratory?

I’ve discovered when I dwell too long on the “knowing” I’m on the right path, it enmeshes me in confusion and consumes vital energy. Did God say cross that bridge, or not? Did I hear him right? What did He say I would do when I’ve reached the other side? Ugh!

I discovered when I spend to much time trying to figure out “did God say” or what my “genuine” purpose is, my eyes become shortsighted. I then misplace my trust. I neglect pressing forward to occupy and bear fruit for God’s kingdom–in the now.

But when I relax (trust) in God’s leading and His knowledge of me, I can let go of that “need” to be assured that what I am doing, and the direction I am moving in, is approved by God. I can know that even when the journey is bumpy and unpredictable, which always raises uncertainty, God has not changed his mind or removed what he has put in my heart. I can press forward, regardless.

God assures us that he has plans for us. The Word also says, ” . . . for God’s gifts and his call are irrevocable,” (Romans 11:29). What is in your heart to do? God will guide you and me, even across that dilapidated bridge, if needed, as we trust and walk with Him daily. So move forward with the good things in your heart, the desires you have–I am certain you can be sure God put that call and those gifts in you for a purpose–just remember God desires you take him on your journey–trust him.

Prayer
Father, thank you for the gifts you’ve given me and your call that is irrevocable. Cause my heart to trust in you as I step out in faith to follow my dream. Amen.

One response to “Are You Sure THIS is the Way, God?

  1. Timely wisdom in light of my upcoming journey. If I forget to take God, the tattered bridge and jagged rocks are sure to overwhelm me.

    Like

What are you Thinking?